Cloves Campbell, Jr. Re-Elected Chairman of NNPA

NASHVILLE (NNPA) – Cloves Campbell, Jr., publisher of the Arizona Informant, was re-elected to a second term as chairman of the National Newspaper Publishers Association at the NNPA’s annual convention here. The voting took place on Friday, near the conclusion of the association’s 4-day convention.“I am honored that my colleagues have chosen to give me another term as chairman,” said Campbell, head of a federation of nearly 200 newspapers with a combined readership of more than 19 million. “It was a strong vote of confidence for our leadership team as we embark on a strategy that includes collaborating with other organizations, forming new partnerships and inviting a new generation of readers to step into the ever evolving world of the Black Press.”The other officers are:

  • First Vice Chair: Mollie Finch Belt, Dallas Examiner
  • Second Vice President: John B. Smith, Sr., Atlanta Inquirer
  • Secretary: Natalie Cole, Our Weekly
  • Treasurer: Lenora Alexander, Denver Weekly News

Other board members elected were:

  • At-Large – Denise Rolark Barnes, Washington Informer
  • At-Large – Karen Carter Richards, Houston Forward Times

Elected from the regions were:

Region I

  • Miatta Smith, New York Beacon
  • Rod Doss, New Pittsburgh Courier

Region II

  • Bobby R. Henry, Sr. Westside Gazette
  • Mary Alice Thatch, Wilmington Journal

Region III

  • Hiram Jackson, Michigan Chronicle
  • Shannon Williams, Indianapolis Recorder

Region IV

  • Joycelne Fadojutimi, East Texas Review
  • Doris Ellis, Houston Sun

Region V

  • Amelia Ashley-Ward, San Francisco Sun Reporter
  • Chris B. Bennett, Seattle Medium

NNPA Foundation Board

  •  Thomas H. Watkins, Jr., New York Daily Challenge
  • Jackie Hampton, Mississippi Link
  • Mary Denson, Windy City Word
  • Beverly Stanton McKenna, New Orleans Tribune
  • Pluria Marshall, Wave Community Newspapers

Continuing to serve as community representatives on the NNPA Foundation Board are:

  • Ron Busby, U.S. Black Chamber, Inc.
  • Xernona Clayton, Trumpet Awards Foundation, Inc.
  • Dirk A. Hargraves, Vox Global

Regional presidents elected were:

  • Region I – Denise Rolark Barnes, Washington Informer
  • Region II – Fran Farrer, County News
  • Region III – James R. Crosby, City News
  • Region IV – Tommy Wyatt, The Villlager
  • Region V – Peggy Hunt, Tri-County Sentry